Skip to content

The Next Big Thing

February 13, 2011

The big thing that drew me to NSD (other than Mikaela J.) was the collaborate aspect of the program. Directors, Playwrights and Actors have one class together where we develop and work on new works. Last semester we had two projects: the first one was sight-specific in which I was living in a post-apocalyptic world; the second was based on stories of our playwrights’ parents’ first dates and evolved from there in which I played Isaac, one of the Three Patriarchs of Judaism. We have created ten pieces and are working on the next five (which is the next big thing).

Over the break, all 46 members of the class/company were assigned to read Rumi: the Book of Love and find a poem, or a line, or a set of lines that really spoke to us. Then we were to take that poem/line/set of lines and devise a piece to present to the class/company.

The first Friday back in Co-Lab, all of the actors (36 of us) presented our devised pieces. It was… one of the most beautiful, most inspiring things of my life. I am continuously blown away by NSD13. No joke. Not one piece was a flop. Not one piece was “meh.” Every piece had meaning, namely because the actor that had worked on it completely immersed himself/herself in the piece and was fully committed.

The directors and playwrights watched us and took notes for ideas they had and used them to inspire some story. The playwrights pitched to the directors. The directors then chose the playwright they wanted to work with. The two of them came up with an idea and presented it to the actors. We actors the gave them our personal top three choices and the directors cast from there.

We have our castings and a few pinpoints from which we are going to devise our pieces. I am in love with my group. I’m sure I would have said that in any instance because I’m in love with NSD13. But my group just seems so completely… meshable.

Apparently this project is what defines the first year. We develop this piece for three months. A lot happens in three months. A lot. We do improvs and just sit and chat and share our different perspectives on things. This, also, is the piece that several graduates and people in years above us say is “their favorite” or “proudest moment.” So needless to say, we have a fire that has been burnt underneath of us. But we don’t (or at least I don’t) feel that need that we have to amazing and perfect. This is theatre. Nothing will be perfect. Yes, every now and again the stars align so that what has been created is so wonderful, you can’t see how anything can improve upon it. But it’s not perfect.

I’ll continue to give updates, but I won’t divulge everything that’s happening. Just outlines. There’s a certain respect that I have given to theatre and the rehearsal process. It’s mystical. It truly is. What transpires in a rehearsal and on the stage is magnificent. And it’s hard to put into words anyway.

Okay, now I sound like a crazy person (but I am SO crazy) that is just so etherial and loves all the wonders of the world because, yo, it’s all just so beautiful. (That last sentence is to be read with a stone ‘tude).

So there you go. Just wait til I tell you what’s next.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Debra (Mom) permalink
    February 18, 2011 8:25 am

    Trey, what a thrilling experience you’re having! If it’s possible to have family attend the final performance of this project, Neil and I will do out best to schedule a trip to see you, Rae and Chris at that time.
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a comment